Thursday, November 15, 2012

Fiction Feature: The Midas Tree by Dr. Lesley Phillips

For this Fiction Feature, we have a guest post from Dr. Lesley Phillips, the author of The Midas Tree.

The Midas Tree, a Book of Light by Dr Lesley Phillips

Joshua lives in the Garden Of Color and Light, an idyllic paradise where he is always playing and having fun. Each day is like any other, until he finds a magical golden acorn that enraptures him and propels him on an incredible adventure.

After being guided to chase the acorn as it flies through the garden, Joshua discovers a door at the base of a tree; and once he enters his life changes for ever.

“Now it is time for you to go on a journey.
You may forget the garden for a while.
Follow this golden acorn wherever it takes you.”

Joshua is transported into a mysterious realm within “The Midas Tree.”

Desperate to return home, he sets about exploring this unfamiliar environment. He encounters sticky situations and meets wily characters along the way. Fortunately he does not have to face them alone. His guides are the mystical creatures that live inside the tree, called Devas. They are keepers of ancient secrets that can help Joshua to cope with the obstacles he encounters and the challenges he meets.

Joshua learns from the Devas that if he wishes to return home, he must first transform himself – and “The Midas Tree”.

The Devas of the Midas Tree

The Devas are fairylike nature spirits, who love “The Midas Tree” and live to keep it happy and healthy. Each Deva presides over a different realm within the tree and tends to an aspect of the tree, such as its roots, leaves, branches, flowers and fruit. Each Deva also is the holder of an ancient secret, which they lovingly pass on the Joshua to help him on his journey.
Each deva has a name beginning with “Dev” and their name has a meaning that refers to their role within the tree and this also relates to the guidance this deva is able to give.
The word deva is taken from a Hindu word meaning divine being or good spirit. The Devas in the Midas Tree are good spirits, although some maybe tricksters. The main devas have physical bodies, and they help guide Joshua through his life’s lessons. Each Deva also presides over a group of fairy-like spirit helpers, which don’t have physical bodies, but appear as wisps of different colored energies.

Joshua’s Quest

Joshua’s quest is to uncover the spiritual secrets of the tree, overcome challenging situations and oust his inner turmoil to finally fulfill his destiny. He is taught different techniques and skills that help him cope with the trials he encounters. The processes the Devas expose him to begin a path of revelation where he learns the truth about himself.

This spellbinding story overflows with challenges, magical creatures and mystical superpowers, which you too will discover along the way.

“The Midas Tree” is a spiritual adventure novel aimed at a middle grade to Young Adult audience; although all the adults who have read it like it too.

The Midas Tree is a Spiritual Adventure Novel
The more mature readers that have read the book say it reminds them of “Illusions” by Richard Bach, or “The Celestine Prophesy” by Michael Redfield, but with the flavor of a fairy tale.

Children who have read The Midas Tree say it is reminiscent of “Alice in Wonderland” and other well known children’s books. They enjoy all the funny characters, which include talking animals and insects, and each selects a favorite deva.

The Midas Tree has many teachings. It is an adventure story, a guidebook for personal spiritual unfolding and even includes lessons about biology and nature.

It is a book that parents can enjoy reading with their children or that teachers can share with their classes to introduce them to internal self awareness.

The Midas Tree is a book of light that offers techniques that can help all people cope when they are going through difficult times in their lives; as well as illuminating the path to personal enlightenment in a fun and entertaining way.

The Midas Tree is a mystical realm where spiritual beings and animals live together in relationship to one another and their environment.

Our hero, Joshua, is drawn into this amazing realm from his home in the garden of color and light. The book follows Joshua’s adventures in the Midas Tree as he grows and learns about his life and destiny in this new world, as he searches for a way back home to his spiritual parent Morfar and the garden of color and light.

Joshua and his journey are analogous to each human’s journey toward spiritual enlightenment. The Midas Tree is planet earth and the creatures and spiritual beings who live there are teachers and guides. They teach Joshua how to meditate and use other spiritual techniques to help him on his mission to return home.

I am a Meditation Teacher, Spiritual Counselor and Energy Healer.

I have many years experience providing meditation and healing classes and workshops, as well as intuitive readings and healing to hundreds of satisfied clients. I focus on helping people increase their self awareness so that they are empowered to consciously take charge of their lives. I also paint and write for fun. I am the creator of Portico Soul Essence Cards, a card deck meant to help open the intuition and creativity of its users. I’m also the author of a spiritual novel, called “The Midas Tree.”

I am at my happiest when I am being of service, whether at a speaking engagement, teaching a meditation class, giving a healing or providing a reading or intuitive counselling session to a client.
Twitter: @DrLesleyP


Note: This post contains Amazon and Book Depository affiliate links.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...